How to treat income from a right of way for land

Received a one-time right of way payment (right of way and damages) for a gas line on a small peice of land.  Cannot find information on CRA site on how to treat - income, capital gain, reduce cost base?

Answer

1 person found this helpful

I would consult an accountant to be certain; as an accountant I would have many more questions to ask so providing a complete opinion would be difficult.  Also, there may be case law specific to this situation and I do not have access to case law history, so ... talk to an accountant that does.

That being said, if the taxpayer sold the land it would be a capital receipt.

If the taxpayer rented it, it would be income.

A one time payment of this nature, sounds like an 'Easement' was granted (perhaps forcibly) by the taxpayer and a one time payment was received.  This is not really a sale of land but a sale of a 'right' for the gas company to run a line; this affect the value of the land because it reduces the types of things that the landholder can do with it.  I personally consider the sale of an easement on land to be a Captial transaction.  

Now this is where it gets complicated....  The amount received would be the proceeds of disposition.  The ACB of the "easement' sold would probably be calculated as:
 - The value of the land without the Easement
 - Less:  The value of the land with the Easement

Which would require appraisals to be done.  Hence the complication.
Was this answer helpful? Yes No

No answers have been posted

More Actions

People come to ProFile for help and answers—we want to let them know that we're here to listen and share our knowledge. We do that with the style and format of our responses. Here are five guidelines: