Can Client Explorer Index Cantax 2010 & 2011 files?

Hello,

I am new to Profile and previously used Cantax. When trying to index my previous years' Cantax files in Client Explorer, I am able to index for years 2009 and back, but am unable to index years 2010 & 2011. This seems odd to me. The folder structure for 10 & 11 is exactly the same as the previous years. Has anyone successfully indexed Cantax files for 2010 or 2011? Does anyone have any idea why I am unable to do this?

Thanks in Advance!

Answer

Hi PBBF,

If the steps I have provided you is not successful please responde back, and I will do my best to troubleshoot other steps. Please forgive me if you have already tried my steps.

Here is what I understand from your question. You are having a problem with indexing 2010 & 2011 years into client explorer for Cantax clients to profile into the Client Explorer. You were able to index 2009 and later years in the client explorer.

Step 1:

Click the index button in the top right hand corner of the client explorer window.

Step 2:

Browse to the folder wher you keep your files. (you cannot rembver where your files are, you can index the entire hard drive. just enter C:\in the file folder field.

Step 3:

If you only want to find files for certain taxation years or returns or if you want to choose which competitior files are indexed, select "Select File Type". This expands the dialog box to allow you to include or exclude certain file types in the index.

Step 4:

Click "OK" to begin indexing your files. A status box will appear on the screen showing you the progress of the indexing.

Step 5:

Once Profile finishes creating the index, the status dialog bos will disappear and you will see client names on the tabg of the client explorer.

Remember Profile copies these files into the defaul folder specified under "OPTIONS> ENVIORMENT>FILES and updates the index to include the new files. So check your options.